Article: The New Lucasfilm Story Group And What It Means For Star Wars

The new era of Star Wars is officially upon us. 

The Lucasfilm Story Group was created in 2013 to corral the multiple medias of the vast Star Wars universe. It’s was organized to keep a consistent and cohesive storyline among the films, TV series, and games. In addition, they will also oversee the publication of all new books. The Star Wars franchise has enjoyed enormous success in the literary world, and many of the books in the Expanded Universe explore stories that go beyond Return of the Jedi. When Disney purchased Lucasfilm in 2012 and announced a new post Jedi trilogy, many fans were abuzz about a possible adaptation of the Heir to the Empire or Dark Empire books. Those speculations were put to rest this past summer with a statement from Kathleen Kennedy, head of Lucasfilms.

“In order to give maximum creative freedom to the filmmakers and also preserve an element of surprise and discovery for the audience, Star Wars Episodes VII-IX will not tell the same story told in the post-Return of the Jedi Expanded Universe.”

Yet the statement also goes on to say that those stories are not being “discarded” and that the new writers will have “full access to the rich content of the Expanded Universe.” 

It certainly leaves the doors of possibility open for debate. I would have to imagine that some of the characters and stories in the Expanded Universe are just too established and popular to ignore. Then again, this isn’t George Lucas’ Star Wars anymore.

To help extinguish further confusion, the Lucasfilm Story Group has placed all previous released books in the Expanded Universe in a category called Star Wars: Legends. Its doesn’t abolish these stories from the new direction the franchise is going, but it does wipe the slate clean for the future films. 

First up in the new post Lucas era is the upcoming animated Tv series Star Wars: Rebels, scheduled to premier October 3rd on the Disney Channel, and the exciting release of four new books! - all compliant with the new the Empire... I mean Lucasfilm Story Group.

Books, synopsis, and release dates:

Star Wars: A New Dawn

Released Sept 2, 2014

Set during the “Dark Times” between Episodes III and IV, A New Dawn tells the story of how two of the lead characters from the animated series Star Wars Rebels first came to cross paths. 

Star Wars: Tarkin

Publication Date: November 4, 2014

Bestselling Star Wars veteran James Luceno brings the legendary character Grand Moff Tarkin (Commander of the Death Star) to full, fascinating life.

Star Wars: Lords of the Sith

Publication Date: April 21, 2015

When the Emperor and his notorious apprentice, Darth Vader, find themselves stranded on an inhospitable planet, they must rely on each other, the Force, and their awesome martial skills to prevail.

Star Wars: Heir To The Jedi

Publication Date: February 17, 2015

A thrilling new adventure set between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, and—for the first time ever—written entirely from Luke Skywalker’s first-person point of view.

-Lee Lind