News: Detroit Film Critics Society: The Florida Project Selected for Best Picture - Full List of Winners

The Detroit Film Critics Society (DFCS) is pleased to announce the BEST OF 2017 winners in twelve categories. The Detroit Film Critics Society was founded in Spring 2007 and consists of a group of 19 film critics with a Michigan connection who write or broadcast in the Detroit area as well as other major cities including Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Flint, Michigan, Toledo, Ohio, and New York, New York. 

Each critic submitted their top 5 picks in the following categories: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Ensemble, and Breakthrough in any category, Best Screenplay, and Best Documentary.  Two additional categories were added this year for Best Animated Feature and Best Use of Music making a total of 12 categories.  From these submissions, each entry was given a point value and the top 5 in each category have been placed on the final ballot.  In the event of a tie, more than 5 were placed on the ballot.  The final ballots were then given to each critic to rank in order.  The results were once again tabulated and the winners were decided. Full list of winners below:

Best Picture: The Florida Project

Best Director: Sean Baker - The Florida Project

Best Actor: James Franco - The Disaster Artist

Best Actress: Frances Mcdormand - Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe - The Florida Project

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney - I, Tonya

Best Ensemble: The Post

Best Breakthrough: Jordan Peele - Writer/Director - Get Out

Best Screenplay: Martin Mcdonagh- Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri

Best Documentary: Jim and Andy

Best Animated Feature: The Lego Batman Movie

Best Use of Music: Baby Driver

The Detroit Film Critics Society members for the 2017-2018 season in alphabetical order are Paul Arlon – The New Monitor; Kirk Baird – The Toledo Blade; Christopher Giroux – Film Obsession;  Adam Graham – The Detroit News; Michelle Kisner –; Tom Long – The Detroit News & The Decider; Warren Pierce – WJR Radio; Mara Reinstein – Us Weekly, & Parade Magazine; Greg Russell – WDIV-TV Detroit & Real Times Media; James Sanford – WMUK-FM; Tom Santilli – AXS, Critic Lee Speaking; Debbie Schlussel – Sirius XM Larry the Cable Guy Show; Perry Seibert – WLBY-The Lucy Ann Lance show;  John Serba – The Grand Rapids Press; Terri-Lee Sylvester – WWJ Newsradio 950;  Lee Thomas – WJBK Fox 2; Mike Tyrkus –;  Carl Wheeler –; and Chris Williams – Grosse Pointe News, Patheos.